lifewithmothergoose

Decorating, Crafting, Cooking, Baking, Inspiration- LIFE as told by Mother and her Goose (Mom and daughter blog team)

Kitchen Remodeling Ideas – Small Kitchens and Photos August 30, 2012

Filed under: Fixer Upper....,Let's get crafty...,River life... — motherandgoose @ 12:47 am

One of my favorite rooms in my house is my kitchen.  There is nothing more heartwarming and satisfying than having your family gather round the table enjoying a good home cooked meal, and at our house that means gathered around a long 14 ft table.  My husband (Max) built the table right inside our kitchen, yes, sawdust and all, but that is another story to tell another day.

When we first moved in, our kitchen was totally dark, chopped up and overall just depressing.   We took down cabinets and an island and moved a huge bookcase to open it all up.  We took down sheetrock and found the coolest old wood underneath that I still get excited about every time I look at it.  We tore out vinyl flooring and put down pine.   It doesn’t take much to make me happy, any discovery about my home, or any home project will put a smile on my face.  I traded in my stainless steel sink for an old porcelain one that Max took out of an old house.  He came home one day and said he had found an old sink in a house that he was about to tear down.  He had a design-build customer that wanted it torn down.  I found an old stove on Craig’s list and traded in my new stove for it.  I love things that are old and love the history that comes with them.

It doesn’t matter what size or style kitchen you have, lots of times they become the heart and center of the home, so I think it is very important when you are designing, remodeling, building or buying a home that you give the kitchen layout and style a lot of thought.  Do you want a traditional, modern, country, French country, or make up your own style?  There are so many to choose from.  Do you want to just cook in it?  Is it a place you and your family want to hang out in?  When you have company over, do you want enough room for everyone to be in the kitchen?  That’s what happens at my house.  Do you want to eat in it or have a separate dining area?   Do you need a bar area?   Do you need upper and lower cabinets or just lower?  So many choices to make when deciding on remodeling ideas!

Be sure to give the lighting in your kitchen a lot of thought also.  That is one thing I need more of in mine. I have a tower that lets light in, a chandelier, and two ceiling fans with light and it still doesn’t seem to be enough or maybe it’s just that I can’t see as well anymore lol.  But, it’s great because when I burn something I just blame it on not having enough light.  So remember lighting is very important in your kitchen!

There are so many different style cabinets, appliances and kitchen furniture to choose from these days.  There is one style that has your name on it so don’t get intimidated by all the choices and just have fun with it.  Your choices don’t have to be expensive either, because these days we are all trying to get the most for our money.  One of my favorite lights in my house in a tin bucket we bought at a farm and tractor supply store for about 5 dollars.  We cut a hole in it and hung it up as a light.  We tore out our cabinets and built some out of old wood (story also for another day).  Remember that paint is also a cheap fix if you just want a fast different look.  So my point is… there are ways to get creative in your house and in your kitchen that will not break the bank and will give you the kitchen that your family loves.  Because, if your family is anything like mine, that seems to be where we spend a lot of our time and make a lot of happy memories.  So here’s to making lots of good meals and if you burn something  just blame it on the lighting ha, ha, spending time together and making happy memories.

The second and third pictures are two of my own pictures the rest are pictures of kitchens that I love.

Happy Remodeling!

Wishing you days filled with laughter, love, and happiness!

Sherrie

 

Leave a comment